Ignition Interlock Device, also known as an IID, is a device that measures blood alcohol concentration (BAC). This type of device is installed in a vehicle. When a driver wants to operate the vehicle, he or she is required to blow into the device to register their BAC. If the BAC is below a designated limit, the IID allows the vehicle to start up. If the BAC is above the limit, the vehicle will not start.
Ignition Interlock Devices are meant to prevent persons who have been convicted of DUI or are suspected of a DUI offense from operating under the influence. They act as a deterrent by monitoring the person’s driving behaviors.
If you have been arrested or charged, call our Boise DUI defense lawyers today.
DUI and Mandatory IID Installation
Idaho previously had lax laws when it came to IID installation. In general, laws and courts would mandate the installation of an IID only when a person was guilty of repeat DUI offenses. However, more recently, Idaho legislature has adopted more stiff laws concerning IIDs.
As per the new laws as included in Idaho Statutes Section 18-8005, anyone who is guilty of a DUI offense will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device. This applies even if you have been charged with a first DUI offense. If you register a BAC that is well above the legal limit of 0.08, you will be required to install an IID on all the vehicles you operate before you can driver them. In addition, anyone who refuses a breath test will also be required to install an IID device.
Here is a more detailed look at how IID installation laws work for DUI offenses.
First DUI Offense
If you register a BAC of below 0.08, you may face license suspension of up to 6 months. The IID installation is not mandatory at this point. However, if you want to apply for a restricted license, you will first need to install an IID device on your vehicle. This will qualify you for a restricted license after the first 30 days of license suspension.
If your BAC is 0.20 or more, installation of an IID device is mandatory upon the end of the 1-year license suspension period. The device must remain installed on your vehicle for at least one year.
Second DUI Offense
For a second DUI offense, you will similarly be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle following the license suspension period. The suspension period for 2nd DUI offense with BAC of 0.08 and above is at least one year. For a 2nd DUI offense with BAC of 0.20 and above, the license suspension can be one to five years. The IID installation period will be mandated by the court and will be a minimum of one year.
Third DUI Offense
The license suspension period for a third DUI offense is one to five years. You will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle for a period of at least one year after the license suspension period ends.
When to Have the Ignition Interlock Device Installed?
When your license suspension period ends, you are required to have the interlock device installed within 10 days. Failure to do so can result in additional penalties for the violation of IID installation laws.
How to Get an IID Installed?
You can have an IID installed on the vehicles you operate from an IID provider. It is typically mandated that you get the device from a court-approved provider. Here is a list of authorized and approved providers from the Idaho Department of Transportation. You can use this list to find a provider that is close to you and offers rates that you find suitable.
You will be required to bear all the costs associated with the installation and operation of an IID device. The costs typically involve a basic installation cost as well as monthly payments for using the IID. Average annual costs can run into several thousand dollars.
How Can a Boise DUI Attorney Help You?
If you have been charged with a DUI offense in Idaho, you may face a wide range of penalties. These include fines, jail time, license suspension as well a mandatory interlock device installation. A robust DUI offense can help you seek less harsh penalties and even have your DUI charge reduced or dropped altogether.
Here at the Hooper Law Offices, we help you defend yourself effectively against a DUI charge. Our lawyers work with you to seek minimum penalties for any charges against you. Reach out to us to discuss your DUI case with our lawyers.